Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 1/25/2009 6:20:29 PM EDT
I'm new at prepping and was wondering what everyone thought of storing protein powder for a shtf.  It seems like it would provide a lot of essental nutrients and does not cost too much or take up too much room.  Can anyone think of any potental drawbacks?
Link Posted: 1/25/2009 6:56:52 PM EDT
[#1]
depending on tha fat content, it could go rancid, and once opened, it begins to oxidize, but I keep a good supply on hand and rotate it, so while I don't have any tucked away specifically for shtf, if it hit today, I'd have several jars on hand...
Link Posted: 1/25/2009 7:13:59 PM EDT
[#2]
Quoted:
depending on tha fat content, it could go rancid, and once opened, it begins to oxidize, but I keep a good supply on hand and rotate it, so while I don't have any tucked away specifically for shtf, if it hit today, I'd have several jars on hand...

Likewise. GNC soy powder.
M
Link Posted: 1/25/2009 8:54:55 PM EDT
[#3]
i keep some on hand. but yes, rotate as normal
Link Posted: 1/25/2009 9:27:18 PM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:
Quoted:

M

just a little heads up-   most protein powders come from China nowadays.   Not sure how much i trust them to be unadulterated and human safe.

soy products contain plant hormones that closely mimic some human hormones, and have shown decreased brain size after consistent use.

Link Posted: 1/25/2009 10:40:08 PM EDT
[#5]
ive tried many protein powders over the years since i work out 4-5 days a week and everyone ive seen do have an expiration date so best to rotate if you wanna go that route
Link Posted: 1/26/2009 1:41:21 PM EDT
[#6]
I got single serving packs of myoplex before ykk, they have been out of date since
2005, I tried one last month, still edible.

I thought they would be good for the bob because of good shelf life and ease of prep
for a guy on the move, but I think tuna in oil combined with pasta would be a higher