Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/30/2023 6:11:55 PM EDT
Been wanting to get into detecting but don’t know where to start.
Reading up on it, it seems the Nokta Legend gets a lot of positive reviews.

Anyone got a good recommendation for a detector, etc?  
I also read where they said the Garrett pinpointer was the go to for that role.  
I’m a novice so it will be basic at first but I’d like to have some room for growth.

Good stories from your hunts would be great too.
Link Posted: 2/4/2023 8:23:38 PM EDT
[#1]
Narrow down what you want to do with it.  Beach and water , relic, prospecting, park coin hunting, etc. ?  Different machines for specific uses .
I’m a wet sand beach hunter so my detector is a Fisher CZ-21 which can handle wet salt water sand . It’s designed to cancel out false signals from the salt water .
Link Posted: 8/7/2023 4:48:34 PM EDT
[#2]
Like any hobby, you can spend as much or as little as you want to get started.  Much also depends on where you plan to hunt - if beaches, streams, or lakes are involved, you will need a waterproof coil at a minimum, if not a waterproof control unit as well.

I typically hunt old farmsteads and the occasional city park. I also will sometimes hunt shallow rivers or creeks adjacent to old farms/home sites.

Prior to the pandemic, I went every year for spring break to South Carolina to hunt with friend that's been a relic hunter since the early '70s and hit some civil war and revolutionary war encampments on private property where he has permissions.

The best piece of advice I ever got was to buy the best detector you can afford - there are lots of cheap detectors wrapped around trees for a reason.