Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/7/2005 9:10:41 AM EDT
This is my first time posting here in the womens forum. I need some sound advice.
I recently quit a job that I held for 3 years. When I first started the job, I worked with a women who was then asst. mgr. She since was promoted (4 months ago) to a store manager and I followed her over to the new store. We were good friends, or I thought, we worked well together, or I thought. Well, upon becoming manager, she changed. The "team" (her and I)became "I" (her). Yet...the only one doing the work was me. When I started having chest pains and busting out in hives from stress, I knew something wasn't right. I became so tired that I basically stopped cooking for my husband and myself. I hardly ever spoke to him and our sex life was dwindling, because I was always so tired. I finally decided,even though it was borderline insubordination, that I wasn't going to do her work for her anymore, but concentrate on my responsibities instead. Needless to say, it didn't go over well, and she started bad mouthing me on the floor to other associates. I went to Corporate, and after a lengthy discussion with them and my husband, we decided it wasn't worth the time and effort to wait it out 12 more weeks until things could be fixed. That was the length of time Corporate said it would take. So, I quit. No notice, nothing. Two days after my no shows, I got a couple of emails from the manager, they were stupid blonde jokes, relating to the situation (I'm blonde), but not stupid. Anyways, I didn't respond. This morning I received a phone call from a former co-worker that the manager had been fired over the weekend for stealing. Sad, 10 years of climbing the corporate ladder down the drain over $12.00 worth of merchandise. Yet, I feel elated.