Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/7/2002 3:25:41 PM EDT
I am a high school teacher, gun owner, hunter etc. and I carry when I am not at school. I am Pro second amendment and all the rights and responsibilities that go with it.

What do you think of the ramifications of me writing pro-gun quotes of the founding fathers on my board.

Most people at the school are gun owners, but you know that usually doesn't matter.

First post here, Ive been reading for a couple of months and learned a lot.

Thanks
Link Posted: 3/7/2002 3:32:11 PM EDT
[#1]
Teach the history of our nation, but be ready for a back-lash.  

I remember my college years in the 'gulag university' when conservatives were literally excommunicated from the corpus while sleazy liberals were celebrated.
Link Posted: 3/7/2002 3:41:09 PM EDT
[#2]
Never be afraid of telling the truth, political correctness be damned! We need to open up the eyes and minds of this country's youth and what better way then by showing what it is that gave us the freedoms we now enjoy. To shy away from or hide this fact is insulting to those who sacrificed so much to achieve these freedoms. As Schnert said, be prepared for the backlash, but do not hide from it.

Let freedom ring!
Link Posted: 3/7/2002 3:42:00 PM EDT
[#3]
Keeptryin,

I'd say GO FOR IT.  Put up quotes from our founding fathers.  Tell the students that they are the facts, and they can make their own decisions about what they meant regarding gun ownership.  Tell the same to other people that give you crap.  

We need more educated students out there... and less indoctrinated ones...

Link Posted: 3/7/2002 4:01:12 PM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 3/7/2002 4:03:08 PM EDT
[#5]
Link Posted: 3/7/2002 4:20:36 PM EDT
[#6]
I'd say go for it!  There is no reason to worry about quoting our founding fathers, just make sure that you keep it at a historical level and  you'll be in the clear.