Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 2/25/2001 8:32:26 PM EDT
Maybe some of you current FFL holders can give me some help.  I will be applying for an FFL in May.  The reason I'm waiting untill May is b/c I'm a full time college student.  Consequently, I will not have time to deal w/ the ATF and their inspection period until this summer. I already have the application, and I'm trying to get the wheels turning.  I need to use my residential address as the registered address on the 01 FFL.  Now here's the problem.  I was speaking to my zoning commissioner, and he informed that this had been done in my town before (FFL registration address in a residential zone) and that we would be able to work something out.  He had to talk to someone else about and he would get back to me.  He was satisfied that I would not have a showroom in my home.  Then he wanted to know if it was my permanent address.  I informed him that I was a full time college student (I think this is where I went wrong), and he said it would be ok so long as my family is living there.

That was three weeks ago, and this guy hasn't returned either of my two follow-up calls.  I'm a little worried that my local zoning commissioner is blowing me off because I mentioned I am a college student, hence not worth his time because how serious could I be anyway?

The problem is, as some of you know, during the 60 day inspection period I have to be able to provide the ATF with evidence that issuing me an FFL is not in violation with local ordinance, which of course was the entire purpose of me contacting my local zoning commissioner.