Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 12/30/2006 7:17:34 PM EDT
Personally, I think that the Giant Pyramid Scheme will be done for in five to ten years.

What do you think?
Link Posted: 12/30/2006 7:24:54 PM EDT
[#1]
SS will be gone in ten years!

Of course I've been listening to that line for the last forty years.  My Dad told me it was the same in his time too.
Link Posted: 12/30/2006 7:26:33 PM EDT
[#2]
I predict 'means testing' before I retire in about 15 years.  People like me with a 401K and similar investments will be told we don't 'need' a social security check.
Link Posted: 12/30/2006 7:27:32 PM EDT
[#3]
I guess the question is, "Will it be able to provide me with enough do-rey-mi to take me through my death in addition to my retirement funding?"

My guess is "Yes" - if you've saved up about $1.5 million and can live off the interest or so.
Link Posted: 12/30/2006 7:29:18 PM EDT
[#4]

Quoted:
I predict 'means testing' before I retire in about 15 years.  People like me with a 401K and similar investments will be told we don't 'need' a social security check.

Likely.

Got a Roth IRA started this year. Don't think I'll be able to contribute enough during my lifetime to do anything for my wife except for the insurance, of course. Got about 400k for that op, in case I drop dead or something.
Link Posted: 12/30/2006 7:30:06 PM EDT
[#5]
Link Posted: 12/30/2006 7:30:23 PM EDT
[#6]
I agree with the means testing. And I expect the taxes on earned income from retirees will go up.

And they will increase the benefits if you wait longer before applying for it.

But it will be there. Any politician who kills Social Security will be voted out.
Link Posted: 12/30/2006 7:34:22 PM EDT
[#7]
i am 22 and i don't count on it.
Link Posted: 12/30/2006 7:35:07 PM EDT
[#8]