Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 3
Posted: 3/16/2006 9:44:03 AM EDT
Kind of an offshoot of the "What kept you from serving" thread. Seemed to me the entire wording of it was "you should have served"

I didn't serve. Does that mean anything?
Link Posted: 3/16/2006 9:46:46 AM EDT
[#1]
I don't think that anybody's even asked me.  

When I graduated from high school in the late '70s, the military was not the place to be.
Link Posted: 3/16/2006 9:47:07 AM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 3/16/2006 9:47:37 AM EDT
[#3]
It depends:

Here...maybe.

In society...no.

At the gunshow...possibly.

From vets and such...likely (most here excluded).

ETA - I think that it depends on what you chose as your interests also. I think that there is a definate negative stigma on AW owners from the general public, especially so if they never served in the military. I had an ex-Marine at the range just last weekend tell me that ARs were for wannabe's (I was shooting my Garand that day).
Link Posted: 3/16/2006 9:48:05 AM EDT
[#4]

Quoted:
I don't know about in general here on the board, but I don't have a negative outlook on someone just because they didn't serve in the military.

I tend to have a negative view of douchebags, and I met a few of them in the military.

LOL you and me both!
Link Posted: 3/16/2006 9:50:55 AM EDT
[#5]
I can't serve in the millitary.
If you can't, or aren't being forced to  but choose not to serve, it's not a bad thing.

However I feel that if they institute a draft, and you choose to dodge it, than you're not cool in my book.
Link Posted: 3/16/2006 9:57:37 AM EDT
[#6]
I am glad I chose to serve but it is not for everyone including some I serve with.  
Link Posted: 3/16/2006 9:58:30 AM EDT
[#7]
YES, and it's not that i wouldn't serve it's that they WOULDN'T LET ME SERVE.