Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 2/24/2006 12:23:08 PM EDT
I'm new to DVD recorders. What is the best program to make backups of my dvd movies? And where can I get this program?

Thanks.
Link Posted: 2/24/2006 12:31:45 PM EDT
[#1]
I think Roxio makes software for that....but I don't remember what it's called.  I think it may be "design suite" but I'm not 100% sure.
Link Posted: 2/24/2006 12:32:38 PM EDT
[#2]
AnyDVD as the decrypter and CloneDVD2 as the burner, paid programs that are constanly updated. Even series like Band of Brothers and the Sopranos.  
Link Posted: 2/24/2006 12:44:13 PM EDT
[#3]
DVDFab Decrypter (free program), DVDShrink (free program) and Nero Suite Version 6.3 Complete Suite ($18).  There is Version 7.0+ out for Nero, but it will cost you some $$$.  Any version 6.0+ thats a complete suite will work just fine.
Link Posted: 2/24/2006 1:00:35 PM EDT
[#4]
I second DVD decryptor or DVD shrink, both free. DVD shrink is a bit easier to use. The output will either be saved in an iso format or if they are saved in AUDIO_TS & VIDEO_TS folders you can just copy the folders as is to the DVD and you are set.

very simple stuff. If you are using single layer DVD's you are going to need to use DVD shrink for almost all of them to fit them on one dvd (they need to be recompressed).

A simple search will get you download links.

DVD shrink does have its problems decoding some DVDs though...listed at the link below, there are tips there on how to overcome them (it is 3 pages, with the 2nd page showing you how to use DVD-cryptor to overcome those problems)

www.dvdr-digest.com/articles/article_dvdshrink_problem_page1.html