Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/9/2005 4:59:51 PM EDT
I am considering buying a used pop up camper to use a few times a year for deer hunting in the fall and camping a few times in the summer. I have never used one before and would like some opinions about them.

Are some brands better than others?  Do the furnace/air conditions work very well? Any pitfalls to be aware of buying used?

Any info. would be very much appreciated.
Link Posted: 10/9/2005 5:20:27 PM EDT
[#1]
I'm sure someone will be along shortly to recommend the "Coleman" brand - which is exactly that: just a brand that is sold to the highest bidder. Fleetwood Enterprises (known for mediocre quality) owned the license for a while, but recently lost it in a legal dispute.

I wouldn't bother even worrying about whether the furnace works or not - RV furnaces are are noisy, failure-prone, and will run that small camper battery down in a few short hours. Instead, plan on installing an Olympian® catalytic heater (now manufactured by Camco) - Completely silent, uses no batttery power, and dead-nuts reliable.
Link Posted: 10/9/2005 5:24:09 PM EDT
[#2]
I have a 97 Coleman. I am not happy with the quality.  Don't buy a used Coleman with the one piece PVC roof.  Mine cracked.  This is a common defect and is covered under warrenty to the orininal owner only.  They are replacing them with an aluminum roof.  They do charge shipping for the replacement roof which isn't cheap.  I do not have AC or heat in mine.  I use a small portable electric heater.
Link Posted: 10/9/2005 5:33:40 PM EDT
[#3]
One word: ROCKWOOD!

Link Posted: 10/9/2005 6:26:55 PM EDT
[#4]