Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/6/2004 1:29:36 AM EDT
Hi gang,

I'm a newbie at towing, and was wondering what's the best way to start learning the ins and outs.

Thanks!

Michael
Link Posted: 5/6/2004 2:52:41 AM EDT
[#1]
Just hook that bitch up and find a large empty parking lot.

Experience.  No substitute for it!

Why are you going to tow a Toyota on a trailer
Link Posted: 5/6/2004 3:59:18 AM EDT
[#2]
Just Do it.
Link Posted: 5/6/2004 4:04:59 AM EDT
[#3]
Some like to place their hands on the very bottom of the steering wheel.

Then it is easier for them to figure which  way the trailer will go  ------------ try it you will see what I mean.
Link Posted: 5/6/2004 4:19:54 AM EDT
[#4]
Buy a toy truck & trailer.

Put it on your desk and practice by hand.

You'll quickly see how the trailer works the opposite of the truck.
Link Posted: 5/6/2004 4:21:06 AM EDT
[#5]
Link Posted: 5/6/2004 4:27:36 AM EDT
[#6]
Towing the Toy, because a bunch of us are four-wheeling, and if it breaks, I can throw it on the trailer and bring it home without worrying about having to wrench it in the field.
Link Posted: 5/6/2004 4:44:22 AM EDT
[#7]
Just remember this is a skill that can degrade over time, if not used.

I do it just enough to stay pretty good at it.
Link Posted: 5/6/2004 4:58:13 AM EDT
[#8]
The parking lot suggestion is the best. That's how I learned it. Though it wasn't an "empty" parking lot.

You can also try setting a few cones/barrels or whatever out and practice manuevering the trailer into tighter and tighter spots.
I had to back alot of trailers in the military and some guys leave you with very little room to get the bitch in there.
Link Posted: 5/6/2004 5:03:58 AM EDT
[#9]
When I was learning to drive tractor trailers we used the toy trucks, it was a great aid. Practice, practice, practice.
Link Posted: 5/6/2004 5:13:07 AM EDT
[#10]
Be sure to distribute the load/weight properly...