Site Notices
Posted: 12/22/2003 1:28:09 PM EDT
Or are you socially ept?
Link Posted: 12/22/2003 1:43:12 PM EDT
[#1]

I'm a good listener.

Link Posted: 12/22/2003 1:44:36 PM EDT
[#2]
I'm the eptest mo'fo' you're likely to run into anywhere. Actually, the opposite of "inept" is "apt," if I'm not mistaken.
Link Posted: 12/22/2003 1:47:19 PM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:

I'm a good listener.

View Quote

That's half of it, right there!
Link Posted: 12/22/2003 1:52:17 PM EDT
[#4]
I'm pretty good in everything except for one-on-one interaction.  Unless I'm friends or they're an interesting smart person, I kind of clam up and have nothing to say.

And I am an expert in saying the worst possible things when I'm in romantic situations with girls.  But other than that, I'm pretty socially adept.
Link Posted: 12/22/2003 1:55:30 PM EDT
[#5]
I don't like people.
Link Posted: 12/22/2003 1:57:33 PM EDT
[#6]
It depends if it people I have anything in common with.
Link Posted: 12/22/2003 2:10:14 PM EDT
[#7]
Those who can talk to just about anybody - I really wish I had that ability. A very marketable skill.
Link Posted: 12/22/2003 2:15:41 PM EDT
[#8]
Quoted:
I don't like people.
View Quote

I second that.
Link Posted: 12/22/2003 2:23:41 PM EDT
[#9]
The key to talking to "just about anyone" is finding something they're interested in quickly.  To do this you have to be pretty good at reading people.  I'm an expert at reading people's faces.  I can always tell when they're genuinely interested or they're just humoring me.  I'm especially good at being able to tell when someone is bored with what's going on or what's being said.

Another key is to not talk about any one thing for too long.  Knowing when to change the subject is very important if you want to keep someone interested in what you're saying.