Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/17/2017 12:21:15 PM EDT
Where can I find a sensor that I can place high up on the wall or in the ceiling that is discrete and that I can connect to the room lighting?  I've seen these setups in office buildings and some newer construction outside the US so I'd like to install in my bathroom.  I purchased one of the light switch/dimmer/sensor combos but it is not exactly what I would like.

Any suggestions?
Link Posted: 4/17/2017 12:44:42 PM EDT
[#1]
Search occupancy sensor.  You'll need to wire to a relay or contactor of some type.  I'm not an electrician, but this might point you in the right direction.

https://www.grainger.com/product/ACUITY-SENSOR-SWITCH-Dual-Technology-Occupancy-6DXE6?opr=APPD&pbi=2HTF4&analytics=altItems
Link Posted: 4/17/2017 12:57:28 PM EDT
[#2]
Search for "Occupancy Sensor".

I use Sensor Switch models.  
There are direct wire 120VAC models and low voltage 12/24VDC models for use with control/alarm panels.
For simple lighting control, the 120VAC models work well.

For lighting control you want an occupancy sensor vice a security type motion sensor.
Automation/occupancy sensors are programmed to trip much more easily, so they are more sensitive.
Security motion sensors are designed to avoid nuisance trips and are less sensitive, so they can produce unsatisfactory results when used for automation only.
Link Posted: 4/17/2017 2:25:26 PM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Search for "Occupancy Sensor".

I use Sensor Switch models.  
There are direct wire 120VAC models and low voltage 12/24VDC models for use with control/alarm panels.
For simple lighting control, the 120VAC models work well.

For lighting control you want an occupancy sensor vice a security type motion sensor.
Automation/occupancy sensors are programmed to trip much more easily, so they are more sensitive.