Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 3
Posted: 9/4/2010 11:13:23 PM EDT
Hello from a plastic Paddy settled in England - dont get over to GD much.

When 9/11 happened I was a Police Officer in London - every unit was recalled and stood-by at stations - there was a genuine worry we were next. Spent the next few hours watching live coverage on tv. Even after the event I have only seen news footage ( edited ) and the loose change conspiricy thing.

Last night, on UK TV they showed a documentary - 2 hours of camcorder footage taken by ordinary average people who were caught up in it. And previously unheard audio of emergency calls and emergency services radio traffic. It was put together in sequence to show 2 hours of "real time" on the ground footage of it from the perspective of a witness rather than a reporter.

I was moved by it - it was so much more real than the news footage. I cannot put into words what I feel for the victims and the witnesses and the feelings it evoked in me,  but I just wanted to say I empathise.

Dont know if it was shown over there - probably was - but if you Google UK's channel 4 TV station you might find a link.

Link Posted: 9/4/2010 11:20:03 PM EDT
[#1]
Thank you  
Link Posted: 9/4/2010 11:22:11 PM EDT
[#2]
That was a pretty wild couple of days.
Link Posted: 9/4/2010 11:22:35 PM EDT
[#3]
theres been a few of the 'real time' amateur footage documentaries released since the attack.

and each time they evoke many emotions
Link Posted: 9/4/2010 11:28:02 PM EDT
[#4]
And what is really sad is that as powerful as that stuff is/was, mainstream America has already forgotten and moved on.
Link Posted: 9/4/2010 11:31:01 PM EDT
[#5]
Quoted:
And what is really sad is that as powerful as that stuff is/was, mainstream America has already forgotten and moved on.

This. There are few that will always remember. But the masses have since forgotten and probably never cared anyway.