Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/2/2002 9:38:40 PM EDT
I am looking to buy a new HDTV set, and I need some opinions.  I have seen the regular aspect ratios and the 16:9.  Which would you recommend and which brand.  The 16:9 looked great for movies but every else looked a distorted.
Link Posted: 4/2/2002 9:41:51 PM EDT
[#1]
I would go with a panasonic set right now.  I work in the TV industry and right now they seem to be the best.  I would stick with the 16:9.  Have you looked at it with the Dish Network HDTV feeds?
Link Posted: 4/3/2002 4:48:59 AM EDT
[#2]
We just got an RCA 52130 HDTV Monitor, and its great.  My only gripe is that it doesn't accept a SVGA signal without a transcoder.  

If you plan on having a Home Theatre PC, make sure that you either get a model that will accept RGB 5BNC, or one that has an actual VGA Input, [i]not[/i] a "Data" port.  

Our RCA is 4:3, but it has a 16:9 mode which is still very large.  Most of the programs/movies that we were watching beforehand were 4:3, so we didn't see the logic of getting any other aspect ratio.  Widescreen HDTV broadcasts and DVDs would be the only reason to go with 16:9, and if widescreen HDTV broadcasts aren't going to be available in your area for a while, then why sit through years of black bars on the sides of your screen?  
Link Posted: 4/3/2002 5:03:29 AM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:
I am looking to buy a new HDTV set, and I need some opinions.  I have seen the regular aspect ratios and the 16:9.  Which would you recommend and which brand.  The 16:9 looked great for movies but every else looked a distorted.
View Quote

They didn't have the tv set up right then.  There would be a setting for standard tv mode that leaves black bars on the sides, thereby no distortion.

Get the wide format.  For the movies, for the future.  IF they can get HDTV off the ground, 16:9 is the future.