Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/20/2002 3:14:30 AM EDT
My wife was wondering something. If she where to shot someone who enter the house with a pistol that was in my name would she have any charges pressed agents her do to that the firearm is not in her name?

I ask this do to I might be going off to boot camp and would not won't her to get in any trouble for this if it happen when I'm gone if some one enter the house.
Link Posted: 3/20/2002 3:47:54 AM EDT
[#1]
Unless you have a registration law I can see no possible criminal recourse against her so long as the trespasser was shot at night in the house, or posed a verifiable threat to her life. Most palces I can think of just being in the house would probably be enough if she is there alone. However I cannot give a definitive answer on this as I am not a lawyer (thank God), LEO, or otherwise qualified in an expert way.

Personally I would tell her to shoot till it goes click, and check the transgressor while reloading. As a female, alone, this would be better from a personal safety standpoint, although not necessarily a legal one. Don't forget the civil suit the crooks family will undoubtedly attempt to bring. After all she just killed the bread winner.

[pistol]
Link Posted: 3/20/2002 4:13:31 AM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 3/20/2002 7:22:29 AM EDT
[#3]
Since you have the bad taste to live in Illinois, [red]Tayous1[/red], you'd better check with some local lawyers.  Illinois "registers" gun owners with the FOID card (and some counties/cities/villages/areas register the guns themselves), so the answer that would be valid for the entire free world doesn't apply in Illinois.
Link Posted: 3/20/2002 7:42:44 AM EDT
[#4]
Guys, New to the boards here and wanted to provide my $0.02 worth.