Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/9/2021 11:07:00 PM EDT
I'm a drywall noob, but I removed the popcorn from a 10' high ceiling and that ended up removing most of the tape with it. It was about 25 years old and was actually a garage ceiling (yeah, dumb, I know) I've only ever run long continuous strips of tape- is it okay to do my taping in 4-6 foot "runs", or however far I can reach from my ladder at a given time? Should tape overlap where it meets or should I just cut it to length and not ever have it crisscross? The room is too large to build a scaffolding that runs the length of it. It's a garage so it doesnt have to be absolutely flawless and perfect job.

I've seen taping "bazookas" but I do drywall taping essentially never so I'd rather not buy specialized tools.
Link Posted: 5/10/2021 6:58:43 AM EDT
[#1]
10'?

A pro would do it on stilts or a walk plank for a continuous seam.

As for your specific questions I can't say. I have a pro do my drywall work. I've done small jobs before but it's not something I do enough to become proficient at.
Link Posted: 5/10/2021 9:09:20 AM EDT
[#2]
I've never used fiber tape before, but I'm hoping with it being adhesive I can stick it up, run out a little extra, move my ladders, and continue running the same line of tape without having to do any "breaks". We'll see how that theory actually plays out...

I can do small patch jobs but this is something I'm pretty unaccustomed to. Fortunately it's a garage so I have plenty of leeway to goof it up and fix it later.
Link Posted: 5/10/2021 12:52:30 PM EDT
[#3]
Fiber tape and setting joint compound.

If mixed with minimal water there is almost no shrinkage.

Stilts for moving around.

Make sure the stilts have an 'ankle action.'
Link Posted: 5/10/2021 10:48:42 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted: