Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/3/2010 8:22:07 PM EDT
so i have been surfing the local ads for about 7-8 months looking for that right deal. you know the one. that diamond in the rough that only costs a song to get. (note that i wrote "to get").

my buddy had been harassing me about getting one. i've been itching to ride again.

while looking, i've noticed that there just does not seem to be that many 80's bikes for sale, and those that are for sale and run, sell for a decent amount, while those that don't run, are listed for o.k. prices, and may need this that or the other to run, sell like there is no tomorrow.

so what is the story behind the apparent demand?

either way, i found me a deal about a month ago and am very pleased with how it's coming and the progress i have made. what i picked up for the total cost of about 350 bucks is a 1985 honda magna vf700c with 14k miles.

issues when purchased / current status:

1. no spark to the front cylinders - fixed, problem was cold solder joints on the circuit board for the spark control unit.
2. all 4 carbs needed serious cleaning - cleaned, gaskets replaced, and bench synched.
3. rusted tank - currently treating the tank and results so far are very promising.
4. electrical issues with the running lights - kinks worked out and am updating from bulbs to l.e.d.'s

interestingly enough, i am an electronics tech, but have enough mechanical skills that i can work on cars. never thought i have this bike idling in a matter of two weeks of getting it while knowing that the bike had not run since late '08.

anyways...there's my story......

Link Posted: 3/3/2010 9:03:09 PM EDT
[#1]
Better check the cams.... they had a problem with wearing the lobes out, due to improper adjustment technique. Most people use one feeler guage and check one valve at a time. These use a forked follower and you need 2 feelers and check/adjust each pair together.