BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » AK Reference
AK Sponsor: palmetto
AK's in order of quality (Page 1 of 6)
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 6
Posted: 4/14/2005 2:31:11 PM EDT
I'm looking into getting an AK and was wondering what the levels of quality are on various rifles.  I've been out of the AK loop for about 10 years, so alot has changed.  Thanks.
Link Posted: 4/14/2005 3:17:16 PM EDT
[#1]
First off, just about every AK will fire and function as well as every other AK out there.

Also quality can vary on kit builds depending on whose building it and which parts kit.

But..

Lower Quality: Romanian AKs and Century Maadi's.

Middle of the Rung Quality: Global Trades, Norinco MAK 90's, Intrac and Pars Maadi's, and most kit builders out there.

Top of the Line Quality: Arsenal Inc, Polytech, Styer Maadi's, Valmets, basically all pre-89 AKs which have 100% factory parts installed. Ted Marshall, AKUSA and Krebs Custom.

That's just my opinion and I'm no expert.
Link Posted: 4/14/2005 6:21:16 PM EDT
[#2]
In Order.

1) Russian
2) Bulgarian
3) Chinese
4) Polish
5) Hungarian
6) Madi(Egypt)
7) Romainian

It my personal opinion
but I might have forgotten 1 or 2.
Link Posted: 4/14/2005 7:11:12 PM EDT
[#3]
Best AK in terms of quality I have seen is the Robinson Armamnet Vepr.

It is a heavy gun built on an RPK reciever. Made in Russia.
Link Posted: 4/14/2005 7:19:11 PM EDT
[#4]
Every MAK-90 I've seen has something mucked up on it somehow.  Had the gas tube that goes from the FSB to the receiver with inside rust, another one a canted FSB.  However, I cant get into the Romanians and their trigger slap, sure it can be fixed but it sholdn't be built that way in the first place.
Link Posted: 4/14/2005 7:30:57 PM EDT
[#5]

Originally Posted By AMD63:
In Order.

1) Russian
2) Bulgarian
3) Chinese
4) Polish
5) Hungarian
6) Madi(Egypt)
7) Romainian

It my personal opinion
but I might have forgotten 1 or 2.