Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 3/2/2023 5:55:39 PM EDT
I grew up in Michigan for about 19 of the first 22 years of my life.  Left when I graduated college and accepted a commission as an officer in the Marine Corps in 1999.

I know some of the laws with handgun purchase/registration have changed since I left.  What do I need to know before I move back?  

I own quite a few handguns.  Do they need to be registered?  What is the process?  What about AR "pistols" ?  

I currently have Virginia and Utah concealed carry permits and will get a Michigan permit once I become a Michigan resident again.  

Also have 3 suppressors.  Any hoops to jump through with the state there?

Thanks in advance

Link Posted: 3/2/2023 6:45:03 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 3/2/2023 7:30:09 PM EDT
[#2]
As it goes for NFA weapons, suppressors are good to go. Those in the NFA Forum here will tell you that no one except the ATF can ask to see your Form1/Form4, but when Michigan legalized SBR/SBS they put in the law that law enforcement can ask for your form for proof of registration/ownership. If you don't have it they can confiscate your weapon and you have 40 days to produce your Form1/Form4. I'm not sure if that applies to suppressors, but I carry copies of my Form1/Form4 just incase.
Link Posted: 3/3/2023 3:12:10 PM EDT
[#3]
If you have an out of state carry permit you're exempt from registering handguns if you also have a Michigan CPL...not quite sure how that would all give out as you need to wait to get a CPL once you move.

I have a New Hampshire permit for the above reason.
Link Posted: 3/3/2023 5:34:01 PM EDT
[#4]
Thanks gents.
Link Posted: 3/9/2023 5:10:46 AM EDT
[#5]
If you have a valid carry permit in Virginia, you can immediately apply for a CPL in michigan after taking the class.  Otherwise you would have to wait 6 months.

Lots of info here, https://www.migunowners.org/forum/forum.php