Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/8/2005 12:35:17 PM EDT
My wife's 2000 T&C LXI has developed a CONSTANT 1amp draw off the battery. Only takes a few hours to KILL a brand new battery. No one can figure out where the draw is coming from.  

HELP   This is driving me MAD!  
Link Posted: 1/8/2005 12:42:37 PM EDT
[#1]
Oh yeah, this has nothing to do with the clockspring recall. We already took care of that and it didn't have any effect on the problem.
Link Posted: 1/8/2005 12:57:33 PM EDT
[#2]
I'm not a Chrysler mechanic,
but it will take more than a 1 amp draw to drain a battery in a few hours,in my experience.
First thing to do is remove the ciggie lighter,or anything plugged in there.
Then remove all the bulbs from the glovebox,trunk,and under the hood(even those should take overnight to pull a battery down,instead of a few hours).
Then try pulling the fuse or fuses for the accessories like the radio ,wipers , cruise control and such.
If that doesn't do it,take the wires off the altenator (all of them,if you are lucky,it will have a quick disconect plug somewhere) and see if that's it.
Those are basic items that haven't changed in the last 30 years or so,but modern autos just have more of those!

Have you called the dealership to see if there are any service bulletins out on the problem?

Hope this helps,Robert.
Link Posted: 1/8/2005 1:04:24 PM EDT
[#3]

Quoted:
I'm not a Chrysler mechanic,
but it will take more than a 1 amp draw to drain a battery in a few hours,in my experience.
First thing to do is remove the ciggie lighter,or anything plugged in there.
Then remove all the bulbs from the glovebox,trunk,and under the hood(even those should take overnight to pull a battery down,instead of a few hours).
Then try pulling the fuse or fuses for the accessories like the radio ,wipers , cruise control and such.