Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/27/2003 10:21:55 AM EDT
I am currently a resident of New York. I'm in the process of moving to FL. Can I ship my rifles to myself here in FL? I have a new safe being delivered next week to a locked storage facility. Plan to bring a few with me the next time I fly and store them there. I'm trying to find out if I can get them here via UPS direct to me or do I need a dealer. If I need a dealer can a New York dealer send them to me? Can I send them myself from New York to a FL dealer and pick them up from the Fl dealer?
Any idea where to find out the dos and don'ts?
Gerry
Link Posted: 7/27/2003 11:57:52 AM EDT
[#1]
Bring'em with you.  This state is gun friendly right now.  If more northerner's move down here with the ideas or bring thier beliefs down here it will probably change.  Florida gun laws are under Florida Statues 790. You can go online via myflorida.com and look them up and read the whole thing for yourself.  You don't need to send your firearms to a ffl so they can hold on to them while you get permission from the local sherrif.  and one last thing you don't need permission from dad (local sheriff) to buy a firearm (handgun or long gun).  You only have a 3 day wait for handguns (none for long guns) in most counties but some have inacted county ordances dealing w/firearms.
Link Posted: 7/29/2003 6:11:12 PM EDT
[#2]
To exapand on what he said...You don't need a permit or lisence of any kind. You can just bring the guns with you. No FFL needed. As for local laws, that is pretty much limited to SE Florida (Dade, Broward, and Palm Beach) and a few areas of Central Florida.