Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 12/30/2002 5:38:07 PM EDT
I'm a newbie to the M1A I bought a standard Springfield M1A had the trigger done by Phil Arrington and I will be changing the stock to one of Fred's Big Red Birch stocks,then have it bedded was toying with adding a Douglas barrel when I do, would like some imput please 1) Medium vs. Heavy Barrel and ,2) Grove 4 vs 6  what do you guys use ? I'm shooting Milsurp ammo from it using a Scope 80 % of the time most likely .
Also is it really worth the $200 -$225 to upgrade from the standard barrel in performance will i really see a difference i guess is what I'm asking .
Thanks for your help in advance now all I need is my Springfield Scope and Mount to get here already

Dave
Link Posted: 12/30/2002 10:46:50 PM EDT
[#1]
Have a Air Gauge Heavy on one of mine, 1-12, 4 grove and it shoots great across the course.

The only Air Gauge 6 grove we have is in a 1953 NM M1 , also a 1-12 and is chambered to 7.62 and it hammers knots.

Is it worth the cost? if you are going to shoot it in matches than yes, if not save the money and put it in to something else you can up grade the barrel later.

If you reload, work a load up that the barrel likes and you my not want to rebarrel.
Link Posted: 1/1/2003 11:36:56 AM EDT
[#2]