Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 12/7/2020 5:33:40 AM EDT
I recently was gifted an unfinished Group Industries Uzi shell and want to give it a go since I have done a few AK kits with good results. My problem here is there are no press tools available anymore and I have no experience making press tools or jigs. Google mostly provides useless info about press brake cutting or heavy manufacturing that is not even close to the answers I need. Just tell me if I need 1095, O2, 416, 4140 or whatever, simple answers, not for a trained metallurgist. Anyways,  I'm going to make my own tools based off an old how-to guide from GI and taking measurements from a buddy's Action Arms. I need to know what materials to use that won't bend or deform under high pressure.

The two operations needing to be completed in a press are bending/straightening the front rounded trunnion section as it has a slight upward bow that needs to be aligned with the flat section. And forming the trigger group catch recess. The jig parts needing to be made are the top and bottom clamp plates for the receiver, I will just screw these together with many bolts down the full length of the receiver through the already stamped holes and off the rear for full support. For the rounded section, what is the best bar stock to use for the male bending die inside the receiver. I'll mill/grind a flat section on the top of this for the next piece, the extension to reach through the smaller section to press on the die, what should this be made out of? This piece may be able to overlap it's use with the trigger group forming die. The female support die on the bottom, can this be made from standard mild steel like the receiver clamp or should this be a better type of steel (and what kind) for not rolling the edges or deforming?