Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/8/2018 3:48:01 PM EDT
So I’ve had a hard time finding a thread protector for a barrel I had tapered to accept Sig/Q silencers. I decided to make my own. In the spur of the moment, I figured why not just make a full compensator/brake instead. I’ve pretty much been just been making it up as I go along. I’ve never done this before either. Here is what I have so far. Some pics and a sketch of what it’s cross section looks like.

Thread is 5/8”-24tpi, taper is 24.95 degrees (spec is 25.0+/-0.1), bore is .3285”, length is 2.5”, OD is 0.877”, sidewalls of chamber are 0.065” thick, blast face is 0.099” thick, and there is an 11 degree target crown on it. All the internals were bored in a single 4-jaw setup so they are 100% concentric with no runout. Flipped it over and TDI’d the muzzle bore within +/- 0.0003 before doing the target crown.

Material is some kind of (assuming) stainless stock I found sitting around. Non magnetic before or after working it - so it’s not 17-4, inconel, or 400 series anything. I don’t see any sparks thrown off of a grinding wheel either. It machined and tapped VERY nice and crisply, so I’m thinking maybe 303 or 321 stainless? But it still might be 304 or 316. (?)

My plan is to poke a bunch of 1/4” holes in it using a similar pattern as a Vias or Shrewd brake.

Are the walls too thin? Does plain stainless suck?
Will this thing explode on me?

Attachment Attached File

Attachment Attached File

Attachment Attached File

Attachment Attached File

Attachment Attached File
Link Posted: 5/8/2018 4:49:52 PM EDT
[#1]
My vote is that it will be fine.
Link Posted: 5/8/2018 8:01:02 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 5/8/2018 10:09:26 PM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
It will work, but with the void area and reduced exist passage, could reduce sound report and be classified a suppressor.