Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/10/2010 7:23:23 AM EDT
Ok, Im not saying I am a full pro but I have been doing this for over 20 years and never had this problem before.

Im loading some 45 ACP for my M-10 NFA rig.   I have loaded roughly 3k of various FMJ and plated 230 with no problem at all.

I use a cage gauge (Dillon Gauge) and I get maybe 2or 3 out of 100 that wont go in.  So I toss them into the pull down section.  

I start up loading some (Nevada, west coast, extreme, or whatever they are calling themselves now) 230 LRN.  I adjust the OAL, clean out the dies and inspect then clean my whole 650 then get to town on the load I have worked up before with these.    As Im gauging the first 100 that come out I have a pile of 23 that fail to go in fully.       I clean the gauge then proceed to crank out 100 more to see if I am just feeling strange after the bottle of wine the wife and I shared the evening before.   this time I hit 37 that wont go in.   All are various makes of brass and loaded to correct OAL.

I check the OD and it seems to be spot on 452.   WTF is going on?

I have loaded many 100,000s of various 45 acp in the past and never had this problem.  

Are maybe the bullets out of round causing this.   OF course I dont have my handy dandy concentricty tool anymore.  

Im at a loss.

that being said I loaded up a mag of the "bad" ones just for shits and giggles and dumped them through the mac and they ran fine.
I know stupid but I couldnt figure out what the hell is happening.

Link Posted: 9/10/2010 7:34:21 AM EDT
[#1]
just wanted to ad one thing all the brass is pretty damn close to required length
Link Posted: 9/10/2010 7:37:41 AM EDT
[#2]
I have that problem with 200g LSWC.  They don't always go into the dillon case gauge.
Of the ones that won't, 2/3-3/4 will run fine in one of my 1911s but NONE of them will work