Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/9/2002 6:37:44 AM EDT
Curious about advantages and disadvantages of both of these type of optics for flat top AR carbine - mid/long range (200-500 meter) application. Currently using red dot for CQB with great results.

I have a fairly extensive understanding of red dot and standard glass options and applications, but have had no first hand experience with the ACOG or ELCAN optics.

I would like input from experienced users.
Link Posted: 7/9/2002 7:03:03 AM EDT
[#1]
I have been using an ACOG (TA01) for 4+ years and love it. Eye relief is almost infinite, meaning not as critical as on other scopes. The newer TA31 may be of interst to you because of the "red dot" type center. Using either a Donut or Triangle center lends itself to fast CQB even with the 4x mag. I have seen 3 ACOGs broken in the field and service from Trijicon was fast and FREE, less shipping. The only Elcan I have shot with was in bad shape from abuse but still was holding zero perfect. I personally prefer the ACOG over the Elcan. Hope this helps...

Link Posted: 7/9/2002 7:52:35 AM EDT
[#2]
I played with an ELCAN during a night shoot recently.  I noticed that the ELCAN seemed to require a lot of fidgeting to get a good view, maybe short eye relief.  Don't have that much a problem with my TAONSN.  Once you got it right it a pretty picture and provided good ID on a target at 20 yds at twilight.  My ACOG did a suprisingly good job after dark.  I'm not going to rush out and buy an ELCAN based on that limited experience.
Link Posted: 7/9/2002 7:58:14 AM EDT
[#3]
Thanks for the input guys
Link Posted: 7/9/2002 8:08:11 AM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 7/9/2002 9:14:03 AM EDT
[#5]
I have and had Elcan, TA31F, TA31A and TA01NSN, and have used them from 100m to 500m, so I guess I am pretty qualified to say something about each scope