Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 11/17/2003 6:57:04 PM EDT
Hey everyone, I am very new to shotguns, and I am looking to purchase a shotgun for home defense.  I have fired many shotguns before, but have not decided to purchase one until now.  

I am down at school now, but I remember a shotgun at my local gunstore that I really liked.  It was a remington 870 all black, 18 inch barrel, and factory pistol grip stock.

I would like to purchase one online, but was wondering if someone a bit more knowledgeable about the shotguns could help me pick out the right model/sights and necessary accessories for home defense.

I do NOT remember what sights were on the shotgun I saw.   But ideally, I would like to have 18 inch barrel, pistol grip stock, extended magazine tube (not sure what comes with them), surefire foregrip (thats an easy one to find), and if possible, ghost ring sights.

Is this setup available from the factory (minus surefire forend) and if so, what would be a good online source to find one?

Thank you very very much for helping out a shotgun newb...

Scott
Link Posted: 11/17/2003 7:04:36 PM EDT
[#1]
Also, another thing to consider, I most likely will not be shooting slugs.  I am not sure what type of barrel to look for...nor am I sure what they offer in the setup I mentioned above.  Would getting a rifled barrel that can shoot slugs and buckshot be something better to get as opposed to a standard barrel?

Ugh, im sorry guys.  I feel like a moron, and the shotgun section of the forum really isnt developed enough for me to research on my own...
Link Posted: 11/20/2003 1:15:45 PM EDT
[#2]
Just get rem 870 H.D model  for (home defense)synthetic stocks 18 1/4 inch barrel and buy a pistol grip for it you will be good to go!!!
Link Posted: 11/20/2003 5:20:00 PM EDT
[#3]
A lot of this depends on how much you want to spend, and what you really want.