Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/1/2006 9:56:21 AM EDT
I have been shooting for about 5 years now, and have several long guns. I think its about time for a pistol. I have gone to ranges and rented many different makes, models, and calibers.

Lately, I've been researching different companies, and have narrowed it down to Springfield and either the 1911 Mil-Spec or the XD 4 inch service model in .40s&w. I want to get a pistol that at first I can go to the range with and shoot for fun and practice, but then be able to carry concealed when I get the permit.

I'm really leaning towards the XD for ammo capacity and lack of an external safety. I havent handled an XD, but have handled the Mil-Spec. I shot pretty well with the 1911 and it fit comfortably in my hand, but again I'd like more then seven rounds.

Let me know what you guys think.
Thanks
Link Posted: 4/1/2006 10:04:52 AM EDT
[#1]
IMHO , the two most critical decisions in choosing a pistol are  - grip fit , and Trigger function.

Some people can shoot anything well , but most find they have preferences.

Both your choices have a similar grip angle ,which is good .

There is a BIG difference between a 1911 trigger and an XD.
(if you have shot some DA or striker fired pistols , you get the idea)

You really should at least dryfire an XD before you decide.
Link Posted: 4/1/2006 3:34:15 PM EDT
[#2]
A 1911 should be the first choice, hands down, IMO. Multiple reasons why, the best being easy to change what you don't like about the gun: sights, trigger, grips, hammer, etc. etc. etc.

A XD is just that: a XD. You're not changing shit on them, other than perhaps the sights.

The 1911 has been around for almost 100 years now; there's reasons for that, sir!    
Link Posted: 4/1/2006 3:50:51 PM EDT
[#3]