Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/19/2005 6:23:18 PM EDT
alright, i'm new to pistols in general and brand SPANKIN' new to 1911's, so be easy on me guys as i'm sure this is a dumb question.....o.k. here goes-i've got a springfield armory mil-spec stainless.  is there any kind of convesion to change that to a .40 or a 9mm?  o.k. now that i have you laughing over my unmistakable ignorance-here comes the kicker...is there any way to take that pistol from a 5" to around a 4".  once you stop laughing and get up off of the floor-please respond.  i'd like to have at least one response saying that i'm a dumbass.  thanks.

jake
Link Posted: 8/19/2005 8:22:11 PM EDT
[#1]

Quoted:
i'd like to have at least one response saying that i'm a dumbass.  thanks.

jake

OK. You're a dumbass

For going from 5" to 4", you'd need to purchase an entire top end: complete Commander-size slide and barrel.

1911 sizes:
Government: full size, 5" barrel
Commander: Semi compact; same frame size as the Government, but with a 4.25" barrel
Officer: smaller frame (shorter grip - loses one round in mag capacity), 3" barrel

There's no way to convert the .45 1911 into a .40, 10mm, or 9mm without getting a whole new top end.

The breechface of the slide is milled to accept and support the .45 case head diameter. Going smaller would mean that you would need to add material to the breechface, kinda squirrely IMO....

Link Posted: 8/19/2005 8:41:48 PM EDT
[#2]
Just to ad a little to the excellent reply above, you not only would have to switch top end on a caliber conversion, but also the ejector in the frame.
Link Posted: 8/19/2005 10:04:26 PM EDT
[#3]
I see you have the need to find an excuse to buy more 1911's.  Congratulations!
Link Posted: 8/19/2005 10:08:04 PM EDT
[#4]

Quoted:
I see you have the need to find an excuse to buy more 1911's.  Congratulations!

+1 Yup...pony up and just buy another gun...welcome to the addiction!