Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/8/2006 11:28:37 AM EDT
Hi,
I'm a newbie in the market for a handgun.  Can someone give me their opinion on the P99?  I understand it is double action only with "quick action".  How is this feature?  Any downside?
What websites have the best prices?
I'm also considering the CZ 75 B, Beretta PX4, and Sig 226.
Link Posted: 4/8/2006 4:51:51 PM EDT
[#1]
Actually, the P99 is not necessarily only DAO (double action only), and the "quick action" (QA), is different from the DAO.  The P99 comes in three different trigger setups.  The first is AS (Anti Stress).  This is what I have, and gives you a single action for quick follow up shots, but also offers the ability to decock and have a double action first shot.  Since there is no safety on the P99, I find this a nice feature.  First shot is a bit harder to place accurately, but after that, it's smooth sailing.  The second trigger setup is the DAO.  This is basically the same as the AS for the first shot, except every shot remains in DA.  This basically allows for a consistent pull to the trigger, without the difference between the first and second shots.  Finally, there is the QA, which I don't completely understand because I have not seen one.  But, from the Walther catalog "Partially preloaded striker provides a uniform short light trigger pull."  

As far as the P99 in general goes, excellent firearm, I highly recommend it.  I have NEVER had a FTF or a jam with either of mine.  The first one had almost 10,000 rounds through it, and this one I currently have has around 5,000.  The only downside of the gun that I've been able to find is holsters.  There are many holsters that work great for it, but many of the manufacturers do not list the P99 on their holster line-up.  Typically, you have to either find the Smith and Wesson SW99 or the HK .40 USP.  A holster that fits either of those is most likely to fit the P99.