Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » AK Discussions
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Posted: 10/4/2005 8:32:07 PM EDT
I am looking to purchase an AK underfolder.  I know there is a Polish variant of this rifle.  Is this the only country of origin for underfolding AK's?

If not, who else makes them?

Are any superior to the others?

Where can I get a decent underfolder at a good price?  I see them on the Atlantic Firearms website, are these any good ?

Any insight/information will be helpful, as I am an AK virgin.

Thanks much!

Link Posted: 10/4/2005 8:18:26 PM EDT
[#1]

Quoted:
I've got a pre '89 Norinco Underfolder, so I've got some experience.  They are compact for sure, but are no fun to shoot.  The strut is hard on your cheek as it's artifically thick to contain the receiver.  Additionally, they will eventually loosen up, especially the buttplate, as it's just  friction fit.

Get a sidefolder if you want form to follow function.  The Romanian wire folders are suprisingly good, and they fit the standard rear trunion.

I agree with DriftPunch. If this is to be your only AK, I'd get a sidefolder or fixed stock as a shooter. If you were just picking up an extra AK and had several, the downfolders are OK to add to a collection. My Underfolder is a 223 model that I've owned for many years and my first AK.
Link Posted: 10/4/2005 8:18:29 PM EDT
[#2]
www.ar15.com/forums/forum.html?b=4&f=64

Atlantic Firearms
Atlantic has a large variety of AK's.  
Link Posted: 10/4/2005 7:21:06 PM EDT
[#3]
No Poland was not the only county.  Pretty much anyone who made an AK made an underfolder.  Best ones now are made by Arsenal, Bulgarian parts,Bulagarian technicians on Bulgarian tooling here in the US.  Click on the AK-47 tab up top and you will find lots of good info.
Link Posted: 10/4/2005 7:22:29 PM EDT
[#4]
Just stay away fro ArsenalUSA.
Link Posted: 10/4/2005 7:25:03 PM EDT
[#5]
Vector.