Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » AK Discussions
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Posted: 1/19/2008 3:50:31 PM EDT
Okay, I freely admit I'm no AK expert, maybe just a tad more educated in them than the average EBR owner but that's probably pushing it.

Regardless, I bought a Vector UF in October '05 and on my particular one, the underfolding stock angles downward when extended.  I have seen pictures of other underfolders that extend parallel to the bore rather than in a downward angle.

When I shoulder mine, I get a normal cheek weld with the sights in line as is.  Nothing feels awkward as compared to shooting any other non-EBR rifle I've fired.  I have a fixed stock Vector and get the same normal cheek weld when I use the Kobra, but to use the irons I have to modify the positioning of my head to lower my eye to get it in line with the sights.  I would assume that the straight line underfolders would need a similar head position as my fixed stock AK.

Since an underfolder isn't going to have the optics rail on the side, why would the stocks ever be set in the parallel with bore plane?  This just doesn't make much sense to me.  Anyone know the answer?
Link Posted: 1/19/2008 8:01:44 PM EDT
[#1]
This really depends on what kind of underfolding stock you have and what receiver.  On the stamped receiver AKMS's, such as the Polish kit builds or the FEG Hungarian underfolders, you'll find the underfolding stock to go almost straight out when unfolded.  The underfolding stock has some rivets positioned along both sides of the rails.  Sometimes they're not exactly straight across and some rifles may have a slightly more downward angle but noticebly downward.    

Stamped and milled receiver Chinese underfolding stocks and some milled Bulgarian variants are usually smooth down the rail but will have more of a pronounced downward angle.