Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » Ammunition
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Posted: 2/17/2021 10:10:58 PM EDT
I know my AR ammo, but I’m brand new to the AK game and need to start grabbing some.  I know I picked a bad time to get in, but nothing I can do about that now!

Price being the same, is there any specific ammo brand and/or grain I should be looking for over others?

I’m aware of Barnaul, Wolf, & Tula...seen 122, 123, & 124 grain.  Wasn’t sure if one brand or one grain is better to focus on, or if just going with the cheapest is the best motto.

Feeding it through a Zastava ZPAPM70...and possibly a PSA AK-103.

Thanks!
Link Posted: 2/17/2021 10:15:09 PM EDT
[#1]
If you can find any AK ammo right now buy it.
Link Posted: 2/17/2021 10:18:29 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
View Quote

No shit.
Link Posted: 2/17/2021 11:22:59 PM EDT
[#3]
Any steel case ammo made by the rooskies is gtg.
Link Posted: 2/18/2021 12:39:51 AM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:

No shit.
View Quote View All Quotes
View All Quotes
Quoted:
Quoted:

No shit.

Lol, fair enough
Link Posted: 2/18/2021 7:46:27 PM EDT
[#5]
Check out ammoseek.  It isn't perfect but the links work and they seem to be updated real time(ish).  When factoring in shipping the basic Russian Tula or Barnaul made Wolf (MC or WPA) seems to be hovering at about 50 - 53 cents shipped.   This is high to us that have paid 19 cents or less but it still seems to be the cheapest non-surplus caliber out there right now.

Good luck.

Link Posted: 2/18/2021 8:45:05 PM EDT
[#6]
Most indoor ranges don't allow Russian ammo because the bi-metallic bullets stick to a magnet. They won't allow anything that sticks to a magnet because they are worried about steel core chewing up their backstop.

If you don't have to worry about that, shoot the cheapest you can find but be sure to clean the gun after because some imported ammo is corrosive.