Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Maintenance & Cleaning
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 10/10/2004 2:47:45 PM EDT
It is easy to tell if the barrel is clean, however the bolt, bolt carrier, and the can pin.  I'm only 19 and I am a kind of a noob when it comes to cleaning.  The bolt has black carbon build-up on it and I can't tell if it is clean or not.  Does anyone a picture of a clean bolt or is there a way to tell it is clean enough?  I always brush the bolt with the tooth brush tool for like 30 mintes but I am always unsure if it is clean.  

Thanks,
Alex
Link Posted: 10/10/2004 3:46:52 PM EDT
[#1]
If you are scrubbing and nothgin comes off, its as clean as its going to get. Some rings on the bolt face are normal. A visible build up always means dirty. If youre really anal, scrub it until little or no carbon comes off when you touch it, then lubricate and reassemble.
Link Posted: 10/10/2004 3:54:44 PM EDT
[#2]
If you have to ask this ? I think its clean.
Link Posted: 10/10/2004 4:07:51 PM EDT
[#3]
When you think it is clean, make sure you have a light coat of CLP on it, and then check it again in 24 hours, If it was dirty the CLP will have pulled it out.
Link Posted: 10/10/2004 5:29:45 PM EDT
[#4]
Lube is more important than being spotless...
Lube will help minimize wear and keep away rust.
Don't worry about scraping carbon unless you have to abuse weapons for uncle sugar...
Link Posted: 10/11/2004 9:05:05 AM EDT
[#5]
Carbon is self limiting, it will break off when too thick.

People do more damage trying to scrape it off.

When I learned this, I gave up scraping.  That was 10's of thousands of rounds ago, and my guns run 100%.

Give it a wipe, call it good.
Link Posted: 10/11/2004 10:30:25 AM EDT
[#6]
Thanks guys, I'm suprised at the replies I have so quickly.  I take it this is a pretty good forum?
Link Posted: 10/11/2004 3:49:32 PM EDT
[#7]