Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Troubleshooting
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 7/12/2003 4:23:44 PM EDT

Original post.
Anyway, I have a pre-ban Bushmaster with 16" barrel. 2 months ago it worked fine. I brought it out today to put an ACOG on it and sight it in. I pull the trigger and first shot fires, ejects, loads second round. Go to pull trigger again and it feels like it does when the bolt is locked back. I pulled back on the charging handle and the second round ejected and the 3rd round loaded fine. 3rd round fired fine. Then the same process again and again. What is wrong with my rifle?  happens on my Colt 20 and 3 Thermold 30s

Update:  Put a new disconnector and spring in.  Now after loading, put selector on fire, pull trigger, gun fires, ejects, chambers fresh round, frozen trigger, flick safety to safe than to fire (something clicks when i do this),  now i pull trigger, gun fires, everything fine, repeat process.
THANKS

-DEERSNIPER

Link Posted: 7/12/2003 6:30:35 PM EDT
[#1]
DS,

Send it back, I hear BFI has really good customer service.
Link Posted: 7/12/2003 6:48:07 PM EDT
[#2]
Check the trigger spring.  The spring front loop goes under the trigger(just behind the front sear), the coils around the trigger posts, and the spring feet down against the receiver bottom cavatiy.  If the legs are pressing up, you have the trigger spring  installed wrong.

Also, on the disconnector spring (small coil in the trigger back groove), the large coil side goes into the slot.  This will retain the spring when the disconnector is removed.
Link Posted: 7/12/2003 7:54:34 PM EDT
[#3]
DS,

Do you have more than one AR? If so, take the lower off the non troublesome one and compare the innards to the malfing one.

If not, work the action of the malfing one by hand with the upper of and see what is going on in the lower.
Link Posted: 7/12/2003 8:07:24 PM EDT
[#4]
Spring on part #29.  Part 23 and 28 are on M-16's only.