Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 10/2/2011 10:18:31 PM EDT
Hi, I am planning on building my first AR15. Right now I am considering a Del-Ton Inc. M4 upper(with moe furniture), Del-Ton lower parts kit and a Spikes tactical stripped lower. I have a budget of $700 are there any better options out there for the money. I am completely new to AR's and I like what I see from the Del-Ton reviews and the Spikes tactical. I just made the decision to build, about a week ago and I have been scouring the web for info. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Link Posted: 10/3/2011 7:02:59 AM EDT
[#1]
A lot of people are using Palmetto State Armory stripped uppers & stripped lowers. There are a lot of different brands out there. Prices are not constant. In other words some companies are cheaper at times.

Barrels are a preference and their quality & performance differs.

The lower parts you use could be considered more of a preferences. I honestly haven't used all that many different brands, but so far I like Rock River lower parts.

Trigger type/brand is also a preference with function as they are not all the same. They all function, but if you've ever tried a high performance trigger you'll know what I mean about the difference.

Hand guard type is also a preference, but it is true that accuracy is best with a free float hand guard. The MOE furniture is a drop-in replacement for other plastic non-free-float hand guards.

Sights are a preference.
FRONT SIGHTS: Many prefer a fixed front sight. Others prefer to use folding front sight. Folding front sights can be attached to a free float hand guard and other folding sights can be attached to a railed gas block.

REAR SIGHTS: Many that like to use optics prefer to have folding rear BUIS (back up iron sight). Some prefer a fixed rear sight.