Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 11/14/2008 10:39:00 AM EDT
I have a M&P15 ORC, and i bought a handguard to replace it.

Problem is, it was bigger than the 6 3/4" handguard the rifle came with.

I had it returned and bought a smallerone to solve the problem, but a question still lingers...

Eventually when i want to put a handguard that is lager than the standard handguard, do i have to modify the gas system and that piece in front or can it be moved?

http://c4.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images02/35/l_0d8ff9682a3341a9833d69b81b11d3f7.jpg
^This thing at the end of the handguard
I see a pin which looks like it can be punched out but im very new to this so i ask alot of questions.

Does that have tobe gunsmithed?
Link Posted: 11/14/2008 10:51:11 AM EDT
[#1]
the problem i see is moving your gas block. the hole is drilled in the barrel for your gas system. So moving it isnt going to work unless you change your barrel to a midlength or something
Link Posted: 11/14/2008 11:09:27 AM EDT
[#2]
You dont have to modify the gas system.  What you need to do is replace the gas block with a low profile one and replace the handguards with a free float system that covers the gas block.
Link Posted: 11/19/2008 7:25:18 AM EDT
[#3]
Is it possible to go the opposite direction?  From the 9" hand guard to the 7" without having the gas tube/front sight look odd way out in front of the guard?
Link Posted: 11/19/2008 2:28:34 PM EDT
[#4]
Ummmm, short answer, NO.
Link Posted: 11/19/2008 3:29:44 PM EDT
[#5]
Quoted:
You dont have to modify the gas system.  What you need to do is replace the gas block with a low profile one and replace the handguards with a free float system that covers the gas block.

+1
Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Close Join Our Mail List to Stay Up To Date! Win a FREE Membership!