Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 9/3/2005 4:37:57 AM EDT
I'm new to AR-15s and just purchased a Hogue grip, which didn't come with installation instructions.  I've tried searching here and on google.  I'd  figure it out myself, but my dealer warned me that people often lose a little spring when they try to do it themselves.

Does anyone have a link to instructions on how to remove and install a grip?  thanks!
Link Posted: 9/3/2005 4:41:54 AM EDT
[#1]
UNLOAD weapon

Unload weapon again!

turn rifle upside down (pistol grip up)

insert appropriate screwdriver in handle, loosen screw SLOWLY and carefully.

the Spring and detent are held in place by the pistol grip.

remove the old, replace with new.

tighten screw

function check.

Link Posted: 9/3/2005 4:49:36 AM EDT
[#2]
ha, thanks for the fast response.
Link Posted: 9/3/2005 4:50:23 AM EDT
[#3]
It's pretty easy, just be careful!  
Link Posted: 9/3/2005 7:05:11 AM EDT
[#4]
Just make sure that the tiny spring goes back into the little hole on your new grip. You don't want it to get bent and smashed between the grip and lower receiver.
Link Posted: 9/7/2005 7:21:03 AM EDT
[#5]
Also, your lower may use a hex head screw instead of a slotted screw, so use the appropriate screwdriver

DO NOT FORCE the screw if it starts to get tight right off the bat...that means it's going in crooked, so back it out and start over.   You shouldn't get much resistance until you get it just about tight.  
Link Posted: 9/7/2005 5:43:54 PM EDT
[#6]
For the guys that often post, " where in the hell is the pictures".

PISTOL GRIP ASSEMBLY

PARTS: selector detent, selector detent spring, pistol grip, pistol grip screw, lock washer
TOOLS: Allen key or flat-blade screwdriver (depends on your screw type)

· Install detent, pointed end towards the selector, and the spring into the receiver from the
               bottom.