Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Lights and Lasers
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 4/14/2022 3:55:09 PM EDT
Hello guys,

So I’m pretty new to night vision, recently splurged on a nice PVS-14 and set up an 11.5 upper with a surefire m600v, Steiner otal, and unity syncs dual pad. Seems based on my limited experience to work well for indoor/close range use. Next I want to NV-compatible my 14.5 upper for longER range use. I’m considering the exact same setup, but I also already have an M600 (white light only) on this rifle, and in storage I have a surefire dual pressure switch (can’t practically use both pads at once unlike the unity which allows use of two devices with one button). So I was considering a Dbal D2 since the rifle is set up for longer ranges (ACOG), but looking at the specs it’s not looking to make sense doing so unless I’m missing something.

M600V/Otal SPECS
Illuminator Output: 120mW/860nm
Laser Output: <0.7mW/850nm
Laser Beam Divergence: <0.8 mRad

Dbal D2 SPECS
Illuminator Output: (mW not specified, <600mW)/850nm
Laser Output: (mW not specified)/850nm
Laser Beam Divergence: <0.8 mRad

BONUS: MAWL SPECS
Illuminator Output: 65mW
Laser Output: 0.7mW

So, again I’m a NV noobie so don’t rip me too hard, but looking at these specs, with the M600V/Otal combo I’d be getting basically the same package as the D2 but significantly cheaper, and twice the illumination as the MAWL with the same laser. I’ve got to be missing something. Can someone point it out for me please? Thank you.
Link Posted: 4/16/2022 5:55:49 AM EDT
[#1]