Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Slings and Other Accessories
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 1/12/2015 7:50:36 PM EDT
I've been using my Noveske NSR handguards for several years now and I've never found a sling mount to suit my desires:

• I've run the IWC Keymod QD mount but the mount + QD/sling sticks out more than necessary, plus the rifle wants to cant awkwardly when I'm wearing it slung and let it hang.

• I've run the IWC 45° Offset and Magpul RSA-QD mounts and they are perfect when the rifle is slung as it cants the rifle nicely. However I don't see the need to mount my QD sling mount at 12 o'clock which may or may not interfere with future sighting/lighting choices I want to make for the top rail. The Wilson Combat 10-2 mount would be another example of these 45° offset mounts.

Being stubborn and dissatisfied I'd contacted Noveske to see if the slots on the NSR handguards that are at 1:30, 4:30, 7:30 & 10:30 positions conformed to any known standard. They are quite close (but not close enough!) to matching the MOE standard. Noveske support had replied these slots were for lightening only and served no other purpose. My dream was that these NSR slots could use an existing QD mount that was perhaps for MOE or similar but no luck.

As I said, I am stubborn and know that I could get the 45° offset mount I want and without having to mount it up top on the 1913 rail. What I discovered with further research (and waiting for new products on the market) was that Geissele makes a "45° Quick Detach Swivel Mount" for their SMR handguards. I ordered one from Geissele, and while it still would not work on these NSR lightening slots, it was the closest I'd yet to try. So close that I risked throwing away my $41 and decided to try to make the Geissele QD mount work.