Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 1/17/2015 2:14:43 PM EDT
I want something different and I'm considering an Eotech.  In saying that I've got a pair of Aimpoints and a few 1-4x scopes.  I've had friends tell me how they drain batteries without being on and they just flat out break.  I'm mostly talking about the XPS.
Link Posted: 1/17/2015 2:24:48 PM EDT
[#1]
I have no experience with Eotech but may I suggest you look into the Meprolight Tru-Dot RDS. I have one and am very pleased with it.
Link Posted: 1/17/2015 2:55:05 PM EDT
[#2]
I've used them for years.  They are GTG.  I like the larger field of view as opposed to some of the other brands which are more "scope-like".  Targets are easier to acquire, in my opinion.  Of course, YMMV.   Oh...   and..  They are tough as hell..  Hold a great zero...  Great battery life...  I like the adjustable brightness...  Be sure to spend a little more and get one of the night vision compatible models.  You may not have NV right now...   But you will someday.
Link Posted: 1/17/2015 3:16:01 PM EDT
[#3]
Mine was GTG.

Battery life did suck.

My aimpoints have been on since I bought them.
Link Posted: 1/17/2015 3:29:51 PM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:
I want something different and I'm considering an Eotech.  In saying that I've got a pair of Aimpoints and a few 1-4x scopes.  I've had friends tell me how they drain batteries without being on and they just flat out break.  I'm mostly talking about the XPS.
View Quote

As far as I know the issues you describe were long ago addressed, I know the EXPS and XPS line don't suffer from them.  

I still use a 551 which is probably the Eotech people like the least.  It has always worked fine for me.
Link Posted: 1/17/2015 3:44:42 PM EDT
[#5]
Have an EXPS2.0. No issues. Also have an Aimpoint Pro.

Seems like I always pick the rifle with the Eotech to go shooting.