Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 11/21/2012 10:35:43 PM EDT
Hey everyone I'm new to the whole forum thing and this will be my first post so please show mercy. I am in the market for an optic to run on my flat top, but i am stuck on whether i want a red dot w/ magnifier or an illuminated 1-4x scope. What i am looking for, is for you guys to weigh in on which option would be more beneficial ie. weight, speed(acquisition and adjustment), cost, bulkiness, and versatility are my priorities. What ever experience you have with either is greatly appreciated thanks.
Link Posted: 11/21/2012 11:02:50 PM EDT
[#1]
Red dot is faster.  If your going to go with a scope consider something that starts out higher magnification like 1.5 or 2 power and has a bigger objective lens.  
42 minimum unless it's a fixed ACOG in something like 3 or 3.5 or 4x.
Link Posted: 11/21/2012 11:14:30 PM EDT
[#2]
But what if i want to run a magnifier behind the red dot. then what would you say would be better?
Link Posted: 11/21/2012 11:43:46 PM EDT
[#3]
What are your intentions with the rifle?  A red dot like an Aimpoint or Eotech will be faster for close in work.  The 1-4x scopes will give you better glass if you plan to magnification more often than not.  I don't have much experience with variable low powered optics, but I did get the opportunity to compare a 1-4x Burris XTR to my Eotech with 3x magnifier.  I will say that the Burris has much better clarity and a brighter picture, but the Eotech without the magnifier is quicker on target.  Also, a red dot will be easier to shoot while in unconventional positions because of it being paralax free and you don't have to get perfect eye to scope alignment.