Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 8/30/2005 8:12:14 PM EDT
I have an eotech on a 16" wilson chrome lined barrel........at 100 yrds I am all over the target.  now i am just learning how to really shot.  I know eotech are for more tactical ranges but i was just curious what is a respectable grouping at 100 yrd with a configuration like this

Thanks
Link Posted: 8/30/2005 8:58:19 PM EDT
[#1]
2 or three inches. Some guys can shoot 1moa w/ an eotech. They aren't bad at all for precision shooting with the 1moa center dot.
Link Posted: 8/30/2005 9:01:48 PM EDT
[#2]
about 1.5" to 2" but only after a lot of practice!!!
Link Posted: 8/30/2005 9:06:54 PM EDT
[#3]
If I have good glass I can do the 2 inch thing but with the Aimpoint Im all over the place also.
Link Posted: 8/30/2005 9:11:40 PM EDT
[#4]

Quoted:
If I have good glass I can do the 2 inch thing but with the Aimpoint Im all over the place also.

The aimpoints dot is 4moa so it makes precise shooting harder at 100 yards. The 1moa dot makes it much easier. I am minute of dead w/ an aimpoint at 100 but easlily 2 or 3 moa or better  w/ an Eotech. That being said I prefer the aimpoint.
Link Posted: 8/30/2005 9:32:46 PM EDT
[#5]
I have a M3 aimpoint with NV option. I think mine is a 2 MOA. Maybe or is it? I think its me but I might try a Eo thingy.
Link Posted: 8/30/2005 9:48:11 PM EDT
[#6]
Let me try and help a bit.

In order to gage teh inherent accuracy you need a target that is about three times the size of your reticle.  So, your EOTech has a 1MOA dot, get a 3" black disk to aim at.  

This will allow you to gage relativetively small movements of the firearm against that small target.  When lined up properly, the red dot is centered on a small black ring.  When it is not centered (pulse beat, jerking trigger, etc) you will know which way it moved.

Give it a try - "Aim small, miss small".