Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 9/28/2003 6:17:31 AM EDT
I am thinking of adding one of these to my 22lr upper.
Is this a wise move ? Are they quality sights?
Is $100(ud1b25 is the model#) shipped a good price ?If not do any of you know of a cheaper total at some other place online?
How is the parralax error with these if any?
Whats the eye relief?unlimited?
Thanks all
Link Posted: 10/3/2003 11:43:47 AM EDT
[#1]
All red dots have unlimited eye relief. If you're just going to plink (informal target practice) a red dot in the $100 range is probably more than accurate enough.
Link Posted: 10/7/2003 7:11:13 AM EDT
[#2]
I've been using Ultra Dots on bullseye target pistols for about 7 years and never had one fail.  I don't use anything else.  Anything that can live atop a 1911 .45 for 50K rounds and still work should be plenty durable for a plinking .22 AR.

On the down-side the dots sometimes have "tails" and are not perfect circles.  Don't get me wrong, they don't look like a comet, but depending on the sight, the dot might not be perfect.  I have three Ultra Dots and one is a perfect dot and two have teeny-tiny tails.

I have read that Ultra Dot is coming out with a new "target" 4-position dot sight soon (it may alredy be out).  The dot is supposed to be perfect and can be switched to 4 different sizes.

For plinking, the regular dot should be just fine.
Link Posted: 10/7/2003 7:50:10 AM EDT
[#3]
Yep the 4 size dot is out now.
Well i just sent off $95 for a 1 inch model with all the goodies it comes with from the factory and as a extra some see thru flip up lens covers. CANT WAIT
Link Posted: 10/7/2003 9:32:52 AM EDT
[#4]
My brother in law has one of the original Ultra Dots mounted on top of his Springfield SAR48 Bush model FAL.  Its held up to the recoil for 10+ years.  I think they are a great afordable alternative.