Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Basics
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 2/10/2021 6:28:30 PM EDT
Hey guys,

I am kinda new to the world of ARs so forgive me if this is a dumb question. Does the cmmg conversion kit cause any extra stress or damage to your barrel? With the long cylinder on the front of it does it come into contact with the rifling on your barrel and if so does that or the 22 ammo itself cause any extra wear compared to shooting 556? Also my ar has a carbine milspec spring with an H buffer. Will I have to change that at all to shoot 22 out of it?

Thanks in advance.
Link Posted: 2/10/2021 6:46:13 PM EDT
[#1]
You have nothing to worry about.  The system is proven from about 10 different manufacturers.
Johnathan Arthur Ciener put it on the map over 30 years ago.
A feller by the name of Max invented it.

A Taccom pressure plug is a must.
It uses the buffer spring pressure, to jam the chamber insert forward.
The neck tapers are forced to seal the system.
And it works gangbusters.

It REALLY made sense before ammo was .30 cents a round.
The 1/9 twist barrels work a little more accurately the 1/7 twist.

The dedicated. 22 are the most accurate.
But as an accessory to a standard 5.56 AR, they are decent.
Link Posted: 2/10/2021 6:49:30 PM EDT
[#2]
Nope, no damage. You'll get a little crud in the gas tube, removed by firing a 5.56. Although I've not noticed it, there are reports of leading, again easily removed. Oh yes, .22s are dirty so you'll need to clean it after shooting. Other than that, good to go. You do not need a receiver extension, buffer, or spring at all--the bolt has the recoil spring contained within it. It IS good to have your buffer installed as the bolt likes some back pressure. So, remove 5.56 bolt, drop in .22 bolt, close it up and you're ready to go.
Link Posted: 2/10/2021 7:04:38 PM EDT
[#3]