Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 11/17/2003 6:37:55 PM EDT
I have a Bushmaster 16" flattop carbine, and am considering replacing the factory handguards with either an ARMS #58 or #58Mod SIR system.

I know that both will fit a carbine with a standard front sight, but I have a 3-rail gas block with flip-up front sight, pictured below.

http://www.bushmaster.com/shopping/bmas/Images/yhm-9370k.jpg

My first question is will the standard ARMS #58 fit on my rifle?

Also, how about the #58 Mod?

Thanks!
Link Posted: 11/17/2003 6:52:53 PM EDT
[#1]
The #58 is for a mid length gas system so it will not fit with your front sight.

The #58 mod may work, but I am not sure that your flip up front will work or not. It might, but when you flip it down, it may hit the top rail of the #58mod. Im just not sure.

A friend of mine uses a #45 SIR with one of Bushmasters flip up fronts, the one that fits over there milled gas block. His front sight hits the #45 when he tries to flip it down. All he had todo was turn it around so it flips forward instead of back and he is ok.

If you run into a problem, this may work for you.
Link Posted: 11/17/2003 7:05:36 PM EDT
[#2]
Thanks for the info!

It sounds like the #45 SIR is the way to go then.  
Link Posted: 11/17/2003 7:09:19 PM EDT
[#3]
The #58 is for mid-length rifles, you have a carbine, there is 2" too much length the a #58 for what you have.
The #58Mod was made for carbine length weapons like you have. They work with standard issue front triangle front sights, and the gov't issue PRI folding front sights.
To put a free float system on and still keep dovetails for attachment to a barrel looks contradictory to what free float is all about. Since I don't recomend attaching anything to dovetails that are also fastened to a barrel, espec. when you have free float, get the better PRI front sight, plus lesson the front wt. at the same time.
Good shootin, Jack