Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/30/2003 10:10:47 AM EDT
Has anyone had any experience with Walter Birdsong and his Black T finish. He has reasonable rates but I want to get some opinions from people who have used this finish before I send my stuff.
                       THX
                       Brent
Link Posted: 4/30/2003 10:32:33 AM EDT
[#1]
I have no experience with Black-T but heard it is the best baked-on finish. Just stay away from GunKote finish I have a upper done with that not very durable! Hope this help.
Link Posted: 4/30/2003 10:45:52 AM EDT
[#2]
THX for the heads up. I contacted a refinisher in Painfield Ill. and they wanted 24 dollars per mag for GunKote finish. I thought that price was way out of line, since I am going to do 15 mags. Birdsong wants a third of that if I am going to do 15. I can't do them myself for that. Plus I can't do that type of finish myself.                 Thx
Link Posted: 4/30/2003 4:45:41 PM EDT
[#3]
I had my stainless Marlin 1895 Guide Gun done in this finish just a month ago. Looks great, and is some very slick feeling stuff. No indication on how it might wear so far, but the gunsmith who sent it out for me stated he talked to the guy at Birdsong for like 2 hours and knew more than he ever wanted to about it. He said it actually permiates the pores in the metal, so even if it wears off, its lubricating properties are still there. He also said it's virtually impossible to get anything with this coating on it to rust. Birdsong does this coating for alot of Alaskan guides' rifles, and they all love it.
Link Posted: 4/30/2003 5:12:51 PM EDT
[#4]