Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 12/3/2007 8:19:20 AM EDT
I am a real newb, as evidenced by my previous topic "Help!".

I currently have a lower receiver, with the parts kit installed.

I am looking at all the 5 million different options for barrels, etc. I have read thread after thread.  I have read tons of articles and magazines.

I still can not make any headway on what type of complete upper setup go with.  I would really appreciate any anecdotal advice you all could give on what would be good for a newbs first AR.

I have experience shooting M-16's from my military days, but it has been awhile.

I only plan to be shooting at a range, I have never hunted or anything.

So my basic purpose is an AR15 that is a good starter to have fun shooting at the range, and of course to look "cool" while doing it.  ;-)

I have no clue where around here to hold, much less shoot, different variations to help in my decision. So I am relying on each of your personal opinions.

Link Posted: 12/3/2007 8:27:42 AM EDT
[#1]
I would go with a 16" Midlength A3 (flattop).

Easily accessorized, longer site radius, removable carry handle, are just a few of the reasons I would suggest this.
Link Posted: 12/3/2007 8:36:32 AM EDT
[#2]

have experience shooting M-16's from my military days, but it has been awhile.

Remind yourself what it feels like with a good ol' 20" rifle. Of all guns, nothing makes me happier than an M16-clone.

+1 on what the other guy said about a flat top.
Link Posted: 12/3/2007 8:37:58 AM EDT
[#3]

...looking at all the 5 million different options for barrels, etc....

You know that would be funny if it wasn't so true.