Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 1/13/2006 6:00:50 AM EDT
Did I read somewhere that you are not supposed to use the B/BC/CH in different uppers?

If so, why is this?
Link Posted: 1/13/2006 7:18:01 AM EDT
[#1]
I think it has something to do with headspace .... .... but i'm not really technically knowledgeable about the matter.

Others will chime in soon i'm sure.
Link Posted: 1/13/2006 7:22:56 AM EDT
[#2]
I thought it was OK to swap carriers anytime, and bolts when barrel/bolt are fairly new.  After many rounds, you're not supposed to swap bolts anymore.  

Someone will come with the absolute right answer soon!

Link Posted: 1/13/2006 7:46:02 AM EDT
[#3]
There is no issue with using a bolt carrier or charging handle in different rifles. Bolts are another story. If both the bolt and barrel are new, this usually isn't an issue because if the parts are in spec it dosen't matter who made them or when. If you switch used bolts between rifles you MUST headspace the parts to be sure you don't have any issues. Every rifle wears at a diferent rate and it takes very very little excess or short space to cause a KB or other issue.
Link Posted: 1/13/2006 8:04:37 AM EDT
[#4]
can someone explain the mechanics of how a misaligned bolt & barrel extension combination could cause a KB?

I put a used Bushmaster bolt in a used DPMS barrel after my Colt bolt had some issues.  Then, I swapped the DPMS barrel with a brand new Wislon a little while later.  I haven't had any issues, FWIW
Link Posted: 1/13/2006 9:40:45 AM EDT
[#5]