Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 11/15/2003 9:35:27 AM EDT
Hi,
I just bought my first AR-15 yesterday.  It's a bushmaster XM15-E2S M4 A2 (I believe) style.
It appears to be all original except for the pistol grip.  I'm pretty new to the AR so I have a few questions.
The original owner says he put 100 rounds through it but did not go through any break in process.  The gun is very very clean and the bore looks clean and perfect to my untrained eye.  
Should I go through any breakin process?  If so what?  Is there anything I need to do since the rifle may not have been broken in properly?
There is a large flash hider that fits over much of the barrel.  I wanted to know from where do I measure the barrel to check it's overall length?  If it is a 14.5" do I need to permantly attach the flash hider?  If so, can someone recommend where to have this done?
Thanks for your help in advance.
Link Posted: 11/15/2003 10:01:43 AM EDT
[#1]
First off, congratulations on your new Bushy!! [:)]

Opinions vary about the necessity of a formal break-in procedure. For what it's worth your new rifle has a chrome-lined barrel made out of 4150 steel, so it is as durable as they come. For those who are in the pro break-in camp it is suggested that you shoot 200 rounds before you clean the barrel. The theory is that the 200 rounds fired consecutively will polish the chrome.

Personally I don't feel it's necessary (especially for a chrome-lined barrel) but it certainly can't hurt.

Enjoy your new rifle. If you take good care of your rifle it will take good care of you.
Link Posted: 11/15/2003 10:16:37 AM EDT
[#2]
Normal barrel break in is not for chrome barrels. Barrel length is measured bolt face to muzzle, and you may have a permanent 5.5 inch flash suppressor. That would make your barrel 11.5 unless you have the Choate flash suppressor, which fits on a 16" barrel and looks like its the 11.5x5.5 XM177 clone.